The Cranial Nerves

The cranial nerves arise from some part of the corebrospinal center and are transmitted through formina in the base of the cranium. They pass through the dura mater lining the base of the skull. Other names are also given to them, derived from the parts to which they are distributed or from their functions. Taken in their order, from before backward, they are as follows:

1. Olfactory
2. Optic
3. Motor oculi
4. Trochlear (Pathetic)
5. Trifacial (Trigeminus)
6. Abducent
7. Facial (Portio dura)
8. Auditory (Portio mollia)
9. Glosso Pharyngeal
10. Pneumogastric (or Vague)
11. Spinal accessory
12. Hypoglossal

All the cranial nerves are connected to some part of the surface of the brain. This is termed their superficial or apparent origin. But their fibre may, in all gray matter, termed a nucleus. This is called their deep or real origin. The foramina or tubular prolongations in the dura mater, leave the skull through foramina in its base, and pass to their final distribution.


Popular posts from this blog

Human Organs


Nervous System on Sole of Foot

The Stomach